Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I've had an idea to add some communications equipment to my Wrangler for some time now and wanted to do something a little different.

What I was interested in learning about and hopefully doing was installing a large military style whip antenna like in the picture below. I did quite a lot of reading a year ago on CB versus HAM and came away even more confused. It seems like a lot of clubs are moving away from CB, if I remember correctly.

First, where could I find these types of antennas? Second, is it possible to have them as functional antennas with modern CB or HAM radios?

And yes, I'm also doing it because I like the military look as well. :redface:

I'm new to this and even if it's not possible I'd still like to find an antenna and mount it to the Wrangler. I had no idea the site had a communications forum!!

·
Registered
694 Posts
You can find various military antenna bases (and mounts) on eBay. I just got an AS-3900/VRC SINCGARS base, it took a while to find a "decent" price. But they need modifying to work well for CB.
This might help Military Antenna Conversion Vs. 2.0
Mounting is another story. I've got my own idea, but it's taking a long time collecting parts, and finding a long enough fiberglass antenna. When it's done it'll go in my build thread, but it'll be a while (so far just pics of the base). I'm not sure my ideas will work (i.e. I can make everything work) 'till I have the parts in-hand.
But yes, it can be done. It's just more work and money then a simple antenna. But I really like the look and it fits my theme :)

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's great! Thank you for the information.

·
Knows a couple things...
48,955 Posts