Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here....two weeks ago I purchased a 06 Rubicon and I'm looking to put a lift on it soon. I don't go off road all the time, so I'm not trying to build a rockcrawler or anything crazy. I do want good capabilities though. I plan to join a club in No. Virginia/DC area when I get back from Afghanistan in June. I'm going to get a lift to fit 33's. I'm curious to see how hard it would be to move up to 35's down the road, after having a 3 or 4 inch lift. If I get a 4" would I only have to put in 2" spacers? 3" lift and add 2" spacers and 1" Bl? What other mods would have to be done to the jeep? Would I have to get longer drivelines, or anything else? Appreciate your time...

Chris

·
Jack Lives Here!!!
7,760 Posts
If you went with a 4 inch lift with adjustable arms to start off with then moving up to 35's would be a piece of cake. You could easily fit them with a 1" BL or a little spacer. When you start hitting the 4 inch range in suspension lift you are talking about driveline issues also. A Slipe Yoke Eliminator (SYE) and a longer driveline will be in order. However if you do that up front then adding in your 35's later will take little effort.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the quick response. Does the 06 Rubicon come with a SYE? For some reason I was thinking it did. Wouldn't be the first time I was wrong though. Thanks again....

·
I got nothin'
1,901 Posts
lunneborgc said:
Thanks for the quick response. Does the 06 Rubicon come with a SYE? For some reason I was thinking it did. Wouldn't be the first time I was wrong though. Thanks again....
Yes it does, but you will need a new driveshaft (more than likely) after you do your lift.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks for clearing that up for me, this is sounding pretty easy. So I would only need the adjustable arms, and a new front and rear driveshaft?

·
I got nothin'
1,901 Posts