Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
544 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

As some of you have heard me mention in the past, I've been working on an idea for a Security Deck/Enclosure for the Jeep. I love the Jeep Backbone and others, but don't much care for the flexibility (or lack thereof) that most of them provide. Once in-place, access to the compartment is mostly ONLY through the tailgate, and they're not easily removable for carrying large items....not to mention they're pretty expensive....

sooooo.....I decided to design my own....

As an architect I figured I would challenge my design/building skills and see what I could do....my criteria was as follows:

Top panel must be lockable with vehicle power locks – this provides security while parked, but also holds lid in-place during driving.
• Access to compartment from rear of vehicle through window (tailgate closed)
• Access to compartment from interior of vehicle from back seat (seat up)
• Top panel/lid must be completely removable without any tools and must be able to be folded/left in the open position while in-place.
• Top panel/lid must be at least 40" wide to match minimum width of cargo compartment/tailgate
• Back panels (behind seats) need fold to match 60/40 seats to allow either of rear seats to be folded and locked when seats are up and must be completely removable without any tools
• Top deck must have tie-downs
• Trunk enclosure must have lights that are linked to vehicle’s dome lights
• All must mount to existing holes in Jeep, no drilling, and must be 100% removable in about 30 minutes or so.
• All must appear OEM-ish

Easy right?? :jawdrop:

sooo...after an embarrassing number of hours scratching my head and sketching, here's what I came up with.....