Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 2000 Wrangler Sport 4.0 anutomatic threw this code today...P0161. Can anyone help me figure this out...I am a Jeep newbie and a girl. Is it something easy to fix?

·
Registered
581 Posts
We should get pics if we solve the problem, PG-13 or better.

·
Registered
3,133 Posts
P0161 (M) 2/2 O2 Sensor Heater Failure Oxygen sensor heater element malfunction.

Bank 2 (Cylinders 4,5,6 - the 3 towards the rear) Downstream sensor. This will be the sensor after the pre-cat furthest downstream on the exhaust. Crawl under and you can see it easily. Easy fix.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Okay so if I can do this myself...I need to know what part to buy and where to put it. Sorry, I am just learning this stuff...but would like to fix it myself. Does anyone have a picture or diagram of where this is?

·
Registered
3,133 Posts
Im sure you could find it easily with a search on here or Google. Both the diagram and part. Since your code is 2/2, that means you have a "Cali" emissions model (me too) that has 4 sensors instead of 2. You should be able to get the new sensor at any auto parts store. Most recommend staying away from Bosch brand. If I could post a vid on here it'd be easy to show you, you can easily do this yourself.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Are all the sensors the same? I looked online and saw so many...grrrrr I just want to get the right part and stick it where it needs to go. :)

·
Registered
2,925 Posts
OK... I will use the pic as a reference.....

This pic is oriented as if you were standing at the pass side headlight.

The right upper part is BANK 1 for cylinders 1,2,3 (front 3 cylinders of engine)..... the left upper is BANK 2, cylinders 4,5,6 (rear 3 cylinders of engine)