Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Legal disclaimer: I am not an engineer and at times have faulty logic haha. This is for the "basic" build of a Jeep. Not including bumpers, winch and other goodies, just tires/rims/lift/regear

Here is my Jeep build experience.
The very first thing I should have done is HONESTLY asked myself what is my vision. I lied to myself, "oh I just want some better tires and maybe a lil taller”.

So I went with 285/70(32.7x11.2) from stock 255/75s (32x10) width. Now I rubbed on the inside suspension, so 1.5" adapters. Now I rubbed on fender lip, so 2.5" lift. Vanity struck and got new rims, and ditched the spacers. Still ran into fender rub when flexing (popped rear off 2x), so now flats. The good news is that with all of that I could run 37s. The bad news is because of the D30 front, in my mind I am limited at 35s to have a stable and not too worried about breaking things setup. Hmm GOTTA have 35s which fit nicely on the aftermarket tires.

Now gearing. Knowing that gears and tires will change the "overall effective" gear ratio,
I had to determine the corrected gear ratio to get it back to factory performance. I used http://www.rocky-road.com/calculator.html. In my case; 32(255) vs 35(34.5) calc’d out to a change from 3.73 to 4.0214. Being that, 4.10s would give me a very close factory setup up for speedo and rpms. (NOTE: I recalibrated for the ABD/ESP systems)

Would factory specs be good enough?

Choice of 4.10/4.56/4.88 gears

IMO Gear choice Factors (importance to me 1-3):
Daily Driver (DD) is a 3, 30 miles at avg 65mph 5 times a week to work
Landscape (LS) is a 2 because of the hills
Towing (T) is a 2 due to the amount of time towing a 1700# camper
Off-Roading (OR) is a 2, forestry trails on joy rides and camping
Weight (W) is a 2 because I have added heavy bumpers w/winch