Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In December 2017 I decided to begin this journey and bought this 95 YJ from my niece. The frame had the usual rust found in Southwest Virginia, not devastating but bad enough. Several rust spots on the body, some worse than others. Oddly the floor pans were in good shape. Something was happening in the transmission/clutch, hard to get into first or second. It had a pretty worn out soft top. My goals were to get it running well, looking good with a hardtop and full doors. 05C72370-A9B2-4A72-A2FF-B3DEEF575303.jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
The transmission trouble

I am not a mechanic, never had much opportunity to do much wrenching growing up. Trying to identify problems and not spend a ton of money has been challenging. I did my job and reasearched possible problems based on the symptoms. The easiest fix mentioned on line was to replace the clutch master and slave cylinders. I ordered part from Advance auto and despite my inexperience I jumped into the job. I successfully replaced the part, and the old one didn’t look great, but ultimately it did not fix my problem.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Transmission woes

I continued to research. My gut was saying I need a clutch, pressure plate and throw out bearing. This is beyond my ability. Some folks on line were telling me sounds like a sychronizer problem. A local guy know to wrench advised I drive it till it quits, then we will know what the problem is. I thought 5hatvwas crazy and would leave me somewhere along the side of the road. So I took it to a local transmission shop that recommended a tranny rebuild. $900.00. Wasn’t fond of that idea and later learned that he wasn’t reputable so I tried another shop with great ratings. I needed the clutch job. $400.00 plus parts. Had the job done. Runs great now.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Next step