Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's time, and I'm seeking guidance, please, as I have zero radiator knowledge. I'm thinking Mopar, but not sure who to acquire it through. Is there more than one Mopar radiator model? This was model year 2003, Jeep Wrangler Rubicon, and it's automatic.

I've never had to have a radiator replaced before (well, no radiator ever, but I've also never owned the same vehicle for this long), so are there other parts associated with a radiator replacement that I need to order for the mechanic?

Rather than going to the dealer for this, I plan to use YourMechanic.com, where they come to you. Thoughts/experiences on that would be appreciated, as well. Thanks :)

·
RETIRED MODERATOR
61,509 Posts
Welcome to the Forum, from Cave Creek AZ.

Reactions: Mia621

·
Registered
42 Posts
Definitely use a mopar radiator. Not sure which part number specific to your year and transmission. It is an easy swap and shouldn't take even a novice more than an hour and a half to get done.
Start with a cold engine. Set a huge wide catch pan under it and remove the lower radiator hose. Stock TJ hose clamps can be loosed by squeezing the tabs with a needle nose plier.. Coolant will pour out..fast! It may get a but messy.. Drive on
Next remove the cap and the top radiator hose.
Save and reuse the factory mopar hose clamps.
Time to remove the old radiator.
There are 6 or 8 bolts on either side of the rad.
Remove them. Having some smaller quarter inch drive ratchet and sockets as well as boxed end wrenches of the same size helps.. the bolts aren't tight but the bottom ones can be tricky to get to if you have enormous man hands.The radiator can now come out.
Install new rad and tighten bolts up. Reinstall hoses with clamps. Fill with proper coolant.