Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys & gals... I need help. I just bought my first Jeep EVER about a month ago, and I am already in love with it! I already have a million things I want to do to customize it, and I want to start with a suspension lift. That's where I need help. I have NO IDEA where to start, what kit to get or which products are best.

I use my JK mainly as my daily driver. I have not had a chance to take it off road yet, but I plan to. When I do off road, I do not anticipate getting into anything too crazy. So, the lift, I would say, is more of an aesthetic appeal for me... I like the way it looks. And I will apologize in advance for my Jeep ignorance... again, only had one for about a month and I'm still learning.

So, I have a '12 Wrangler Sport 2 door. It currently has 17 inch wheels (from dealership) and I believe 32-33" tires (aftermarket). I was told a 3" lift on a Jeep was sufficient, but I kinda wanted to go 4". Any thoughts or recommendations?

And once I figure out how high I want to go, what kits would you recommend for my situation (highway driving mainly and a small amount of moderate off roading)? Budget wise... I don't want to spend much more than $1200 on a kit. Under $1000 is ideal, but I also don't want to buy a crappy product.

I know that's a lot of info, but I'm hoping there is someone out there who can help me out in providing some info on suspension lifts for my JK. Also, in my research so far I've seen that in a lot of kits the shocks aren't included, and then there's a leveling kit. Do i need all this with the lift kit?

Any info will help, and thank you for taking some time to help out a Jeep newbie! God Bless.

·
Registered
2,234 Posts