Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been researching different leveling kits for the JKUR on this site. My intention is to do the following:

- Install a leveling kit
- Upgrade the front (and possibly rear) bumper
- Replace the stock 32's with 33's when they are worn
- Keep the stock Rubicon rims

Specifically, I'm looking at the two TeraFlex leveling kits. One with spacers and the other with springs. Being a complete noob, this has left me with a few questions:

Am I correct assuming that the spring kit will increase the travel distance of the shocks and therefore alter the geometry of the suspension more (specifically at certain points of flex)?

If so, would the increased travel make running wheel spacers "more necessary" with the spring kit as opposed to the spacer kit?

Ultimately, I'm wondering if I would have to add wheel spacers under the following scenarios:

- spacer kit with 32's on stock rims
- spacer kit with 33's on stock rims
- spring kit with 32's on stock rims
- spring kit with 33's on stock rims

My guess is no, yes, yes, yes. But it is purely a guess.

I've also read that the ride changes more when the factory springs are swapped out. Does this mean the TeraFlex springs provide a stiffer ride compared to the stock Rubicon springs?

Should the fact that I want to replace the stock plastic bumpers push me toward springs versus spacers?

A million thanks for the help.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
One question before I add my own view on what you're doing:

You've not said the amount of lift or boost you're wanting to achieve.