Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I'm looking at a 1994 four cyl, 2.5L, 5 speed manual
with 98k miles on it...

As I have never personally owned a Jeep, but have driven
them before, with lower mileage on them.

Can anyone tell me what kind of technical problems i should
ask the dealer about, or should expect if i should decide to
purchase this vehicle...

Also what kind of life expectancy can i expect from the vehicle
in terms of approximate mileage where things will start breaking
down too much where its cheaper to get a new vehicle instead of
constantly fixing the one that i'm looking at???

Please respond as detailed as you can, I have alot of technical
knowledge of GMs, fords, and ford products,(ASE certified mechanic) but unfortunately
i have no experience with Jeep products in the technical sense..

Thanks

·
Registered
4,057 Posts
I'd have it checked over by a mechanic. If it checks out, and the price is reasonable, I'd go for it.

1994 is a good year.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I bought mine with 85k on it and was very pleased. The 2.5L and the driveline is holdin' up really well at 122k. The only stuff I replaced is stuff I wanted to do or I broke it, no fault of the Jeep age or wear.

·
Registered
187 Posts
i bought mine at 130,000 ive got 160,000 on it now. and still going strong, well cant get 70mph on the freeway but ive got 31/10.50s. water pump went out on me but thats about it.

·
Administrator
12,622 Posts
Well, the 4banger is a good engine, not a lot of power but it will run into the high 100k range on miles if taken care of. As you would with any used car or truck check the systems over.

·
Registered
466 Posts