Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, new to the forums.

Quick back story. I bought a 1988 YJ in 2000 when I was 15 made some upgrades and drove it until I was 18. When I graduated HS I was shipped off to basic then overseas and thus the Jeep remained garaged at my parents house for the next 13 years. They are selling their home and have finally shipped the Jeep to me which is in need of some more upgrading.

The only functional upgrades I have made so far is rebuilding the 258 and adding multi-point fuel injection, installing a bolt-on 4" lift, and full exhaust. Everything else has been fairly cosmetic and accessories like bumpers winches, lights, seats, racks, etc.

So my question is what are some upgrades I should make or need to make to increase functionality. I have been wanting to replace the axles as I believe they are the stock Dana 30 and Dana 35 (not sure if to fully replace with Dana 44 or replace with different spline??), I would also like to change the gears to 4.56, as well as install lockers. I'm not sure about the suspension, I keep reading about coil overs and things like that but don't know enough about those.

All your thoughts are appreciated. If this is the wrong section please let me know.

-Joe

·
Registered
32 Posts
Well a lot of lookers, I'll reply. I'm new too but for function it all depends what you are going to be doing with it. Mall crawl or deep and dirty? How tall you want to be etc

·
Registered
1,139 Posts
Well a lot of lookers, I'll reply. I'm new too but for function it all depends what you are going to be doing with it. Mall crawl or deep and dirty? How tall you want to be etc
X2

Wrangler forum has many many many useful members. . . . . Maybe you didn't ask the question right.