Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm the brand new owner of a '91 YJ, and it's my very first project vehicle, so I'm a total newbie to customization. From what I can tell, I'm running a 3" body lift but everything is otherwise stock except for some 32 x 11.5's on some decent pacer rims.
I'm looking for my first major project to be turning this thing into a respectable trail vehicle. I don't foresee crawling in my future, so a coil conversion is out. Can I get some direction from some of you who have been in my shoes?

·
Premium Member
7,064 Posts
I have an 87 yj so I'm somewhat in your shoes but everyone I've talked to says 3" of body lift is way too much. If you wanna really tear into it a 4" lift would need a slip yoke Eliminator for the transfer case and a cv driveshaft so it doesn't vibrate. There are 2.5" lifts that don't require that much changing around just bolt the kit in. Everyone here seems to like the OME 2.5" lift kit. Its expensive but you get what you pay for. I have been looking into the fabtech 3.5" kit because it comes with a 1" transfer case drop to run untill you get the slip yoke and such. Then there is the soa. Spring over axles. That will give you a good 6" of lift and according to ibuildembig on here you don't need a sye since you set the pinion angle when re-welding the perches back on.

·
Registered
89 Posts
If it were me, i'd pull that body lift out. I wouldn't run more than 33"s on it if you aren't into crawling. If so, 35"s are pretty much the bare minimum for trails in my neck of the woods. Plus keeping a reasonable tire size will help keep jeep parts intact. That being said, I'd look at some of the rubicon express 4.5" kits. Chromoly axles are a must for light wheeling. If put a selectable locker on the rear to start. Is it auto or manual, 2.5 or 4.0, and what gears are in it?

·