Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am swapping out stock sport tires for stock rubicons tomorrow. I have to have my stock TPMS swapped because the rubicons are from a 2012 and mine is 2013...search TPMS and you will understand why.

Anyway, I would normally think a balance would be required after mounting the tires to put on the TPMS but discount tire said they shouldn't need it.

I am not a tire expert and don't know if I should have them do it anyway or if would just be a waste of money??

Thoughts or experiences??

·
Registered
976 Posts
I am swapping out stock sport tires for stock rubicons tomorrow. I have to have my stock TPMS swapped because the rubicons are from a 2012 and mine is 2013...search TPMS and you will understand why.

Anyway, I would normally think a balance would be required after mounting the tires to put on the TPMS but discount tire said they shouldn't need it.

I am not a tire expert and don't know if I should have them do it anyway or if would just be a waste of money??

You are changing out a tire wheel combo you need to get them balanced imho

·
Registered
8,968 Posts
You are changing out a tire wheel combo you need to get them balanced imho
I agree. Notice they say "shouldn't" need it not that they "don't" need it. It's your decision. However, I would insist on it. If you allow them to be lazy they will be.

·
Registered
1,808 Posts
I'm guessing you have 2 complete sets of wheels and tires and are simply using the 2012 wheels and tires so they don't actually need to remove the tire from the wheel they will just break the bead on the ONE side of the tire to get the sensors in, if they do that the tires will still be mounted in the exact same place as before so no balancing should be necessary.... I used to do this for a living

·
Super Moderator
23,167 Posts
how many miles on the new set you are going with?

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #6