Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
**EDIT: Just realized this may be in the wrong forum... although we can look at the 'damage report' of the Jeep as 'Model Tech' .... sort of.... If its in the wrong area my apologies to the mods**

Cliff notes at the bottom for those that don't want to read the whole story.

So heading back to my house today on the highway and take an offramp that leads to an adjoining highway and this vehicle is right on my bumper (Nissan Maxima). Its raining lightly and the roads are wet...

Back when I was a rookie this used to pressure me to go quicker and then get sucked into the guy in front of me's bumper. I don't do that anymore- so I slowed down to give a safety pocket between me and the vehicle in front.

At this point its single lane traffic and fairly heavy.

The Nissan driver I think took this as a road rage invitation and went from half a car length behind me to right behind me.

I just left it not wanting an accident and maintained my course and speed.

Then before getting to the adjoining highway a second merge lane from another direction joins up and become a second merge lane (1 lane becomes 2 momentarily before they both end and you have to be on the highway).

The lady in the Nissan floors it as I'm speeding up to merge speed now that there was a safety pocket and when she pulls along side me, looks at me and then drives right into my lane.

I did what everyone does initially and banked over left and then applied brakes but I could only go so far left (edge of roadway) and the Jeep only stops so fast.

The Nissan ended up making contact with the front edge of my bumper, sucked my vehicle in slightly and because she was going faster than I was (overtaking/speeding) her vehicle spun in front of mine and smoked the median on the highway as it crossed my bow (yeah we made it to the highway.... just).