Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm now a proud owner of a '94 Wrangler with the 2.5L. I bought it with a 1.5" lift and 33's. I'm new to Jeeps so going from a small car that will do 0-60 in 7-8 seconds to this feels painful. It seems as though my 4th gear has absolutely no torque! Or at least it feels that way. There's a lot of mountains around here as well and one of my weekly drives is on a mountain into VA. Needless to say my gas mileage sucks, too. I'm sure because of the added lift, and most likely bigger tires, maybe, that I may need to re-gear it? Can someone help me out on what may need to be done?:banghead:

·
Registered
506 Posts
I'm now a proud owner of a '94 Wrangler with the 2.5L. I bought it with a 1.5" lift and 33's. I'm new to Jeeps so going from a small car that will do 0-60 in 7-8 seconds to this feels painful. It seems as though my 4th gear has absolutely no torque! Or at least it feels that way. There's a lot of mountains around here as well and one of my weekly drives is on a mountain into VA. Needless to say my gas mileage sucks, too. I'm sure because of the added lift, and most likely bigger tires, maybe, that I may need to re-gear it? Can someone help me out on what may need to be done?:banghead:
Welcome to our world.

As far as there being no torque, the 2.5L is infamous for not producing much power while driving on road (but they can keep up with 4.0L off road all day). As much as I'd hate to say, you should have done some research before purchasing.
Crawling up hilly roadside is something you have to deal with when you have a 2.5L.