Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,
My name is Payton, I recently purchased a 2013 JK Sport 4 dr. White with a 6 speed. Recently separated from the Air Force, and am now working for Union Pacific Railroad. I came from the Euro car world and have wanted a Wrangler for a long, LONG time! I finally found the exact one and jumped on it. The modification bug has hit me after a week of ownership. I have a few questions...

1. What would be the most recommended lift kit and height for 35'' tires?
2. Would I need to regear with 35s?

I am planning on a body colored hard top. Thinking of selling my hard top or possibly trading for a white one plus cash on my end, anyone interested?

Gotta get back to work, just wanted to introduce myself!

·
Registered
141 Posts
What kind of gear ratio do you have? If it's 3:21s you definitely have to re-gear. I'm not an expert but I think you'd be Ok with running 3:73s if you have them. However if you don't and you do need to re-gear the general consensus is skip the 3:73s and just go with 4:10s or bigger.

I'm a new Jeep owner too! Feels great doesn't it?

·
Registered
289 Posts
Congrats on the new Jeep. I've had mine a couple months now and am looking at mods as well. Give us some info on stock gears and plans for driving it. I plan on wheeling stock for a while to figure out what I really want. Too many options to spend money on.

·
Registered
2,213 Posts
With 3.73 gearing, you'll be fine, though many recommend 4.10s or more. 3.21 gears will leave your frustrated with the acceleration from a stop. Higher ratios are perfect if you are rockcrawling, but the engine will work harder at freeway speeds and mileage will drop.

·
Registered
64 Posts