Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy! I'm not new to Jeeps, but I'm new to Wranglers. We just bought a bone stock 2006 LJ with 14k miles. 6spd, all the goodies. It has the original tires on it, and while low mileage, they're 9 years old and need to be replaced. My current train of thought, with limited funds, is buy a set of take off 14-15 Rubicon wheels and tires, hub adapters and a set of coil spring spacers until I figure out what I want to do to it. So should I do that? Or stick with a 15" wheel and go with 32s for now? I'm never planning on doing hard core crawling, but general off roading, mudding, light crawling...basically just having fun. It won't be a daily driver, but I don't want to make it completely unstreetable.

So? Ideas? Advice? Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
101 Posts
Probably comes down to personal preference in terms of cosmetics, and then price. Sounds like you are committing to a spacer lift regardless, so that is a wash. Can you find JK take-offs and spacers for a comparable price to a set of 32's for your current wheels? I have no idea what the market is like in your area, but around here the JK take-offs seem to be going in the $6-800 range, plus ~$150 for a decent set of spacers/adapters... So best case maybe $750? That is probably less expensive than a good set of (5) 32's mounted up and out the door, so it's down to whether or not you like the look of the larger wheel diameter and style. In my opinion, which is worth exactly what you paid, the answer would be no. For an off-road type vehicle, I personally don't like 17's for anything less than a 35" tire.

·
Registered
240 Posts