Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked up a 98 Wrangler sport. I work as a tech for Infiniti, and this jeep was our plow truck for the lot. It's a fairly large lot and after 2 years of plowing abuse, the reverse band in the original 116k mile 32RH decided it no longer wanted to be a functioning part of the trans, and grenaded. After a bit of bargaining, I bought it for $1,900. Since it's not a daily driver, it'll get some much needed love as time allows.

I decided that, in my opinion, jeeps shouldn't be automatics. So out came the beat up 32RH and in went an ax15, with all the necessary swap parts. The swap took me just under 8hrs, but needs some final touches. I swapped my original speedo gear (blue teeth) in place of the one that came with the trans/t-case combo I bought, which had a broken connector and yellow teeth, but the speedo doesn't work. I had to bypass the neutral safety switch to get it to fire, and have a check engine light on. I'm assuming it's not seeing the converter lock up, but I haven't scanned it yet. So we'll see about that.

It needs front floors and a new top, but other than that it's fairly solid for being an IL jeep it's entire life. Here's a few obligatory pictures for everyone's enjoyment.

·
Registered
25 Posts
You say it needs a new top, how much is wrong with it? Is it just the material that you'd replace or the frame too? Looking to buy one cheap since I only have a hard top.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
You say it needs a new top, how much is wrong with it? Is it just the material that you'd replace or the frame too? Looking to buy one cheap since I only have a hard top.