Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,962 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I searched but could not find a procedure for breaking in a new gear set. Can some one outline how to do it correctly?
Thanks.

·
Registered
508 Posts
I'm no expert but I believe I read somewhere 500 miles then change the fluid.

·
Registered
6,202 Posts
It's really not that important. Have you ever driven a car off the dealership lot? Pretty much do that.

·
Registered
2,962 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I thought o read someplace about driving for a period at various speeds then stopping to let gears cool then driving another amount of time/ distance and letting it cool. Not sure where I read that though.

·
Registered
2,962 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for your input guys. I searched again with diff terms and found what I was looking for.

·
Registered
2,223 Posts
I've seen everything from drive 500 miles, heat cycles, etc... to what @Tweak said. I tend to subscribe to the latter, but I am no expert. I did my own, so I just took it easy on it and pulled the covers at 1000 miles, inspected and changed the fluids. No issues. Make sure you do pull the plug, it is magnetic and will pick up the fines that come off.

·
Registered
581 Posts
I just got mine out of the shop (well my family picked it up). The instructions per the installer were to drive no more than an hour at a time for the first two-three hours, with cool down periods in-between. Yukon recommended a 15-20 minute trip and a cool down. Both recommend a fluid change at 500 miles. No hard acceleration during this time, and not heavy towing.

Depending on who you purchase from, the warranty will depend on your break in procedure. Apparently they can tell by looking at the break if it was heat fatigue or what.

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
I just drove normal for the first 500 miles without doing any offroad at all. Then took her in to had the diffs fluid changed and that was it.

·
Registered
2,642 Posts