Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All! I am a newbie but have always been a fan of the Jeeps and the Jeep culture. i recently bought a 2014 jeep sport wrangler unlimited. by accident we were heading to our future retirement home (house) in Ellijay Ga. a week after and come to find out that jeepfest was happening in Jasper 2 days before we were having to come back to fl. needless to say the fest was awesome. i need help in taking the steps to make my jeep street and trail ready for when we move up there full time. i will be using my jeep daily for back and forth to work in the meantime. 26 highway miles each way. a friend has a 2 1/2 lift kit for me for free and was wondering what are the first things i should add to my new jeep after adding it or should i do things before adding? any help would be appreciated.....i'm a Chef not a mechanic so simple would be great! Looking forward to being a part of the Jeep family!
sorry....will be traveling back and forth from orlando to ellijay periodically for the next year or so....
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
I was also at Jeepfest in Jasper and had a great time. My advice is to drive your jeep stock for awhile and understand its capabilities before spending a lot of money right off the bat. The mods you might want to do will greatly depend on the type of off-roading you prefer. You might start with some basic armor to prevent damage to your jeep such as rock rails, bumpers, or some additional skid plates but there are almost limitless possibilities on the type of mods you may want to do. Even if you get a lift kit for free, I'd still be a little concerned with what it consists of. I'd want to be sure it's a quality lift kit so you don't introduce problems, especially for a jeep that will be driven long distances.