Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To establish things right off the bat? I am NOT mechanically inclined. I'm hardly an idiot, but I have no experience whatsoever beyond basic things like replacing my bumpers. Added to that, I have no place to do any kind of work if I even had the confidence or skill.

OK, so I took my 98 TJ last week to a reputable 4WD shop finally get the lift installed a year after I bought it... only to get a call back late in the day suggesting I don't do it and that there is a lot of frame rot. Got there, saw how bad it is, asked them what they reasonably may think for a time frame before it gets unsafe to drive and or breaks. The service manager told me it could last the rest of the year, could last the rest of the month. Then quoted me 5 grand plus incidentals to repair both sides using autorust parts, or 10 grand to replace the frame.

He was pretty ambiguous in those estimates, when anything prior had always been down to the penny. Taking into account he told me on the phone "if we can even fix it" when giving me the bad news? I honestly feel they just didn't want to tackle the work and the quote was what it would be for them to want to get into it. I can't say I blame them really.

I'm unsure of terminology... but looking at autorust's site, and from what I remember seeing when it was on the lift and what the service manager told me? I'd say everything from front to back on both sides needs to be replaced/repaired.

My TJ is the only vehicle I ever wanted since I was 16, to me its as good as family. My wife keeps bringing up the idea of buying another TJ to swap swap my stuff onto... like the brand new 33s I bought from the same shop two weeks ago. But I dont want someone else's old TJ, I just want mine. So that leans me towards repairing the damage.

I guess my questions are this: