Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've learned that the 3.8 L eats oil I put in about a quart every 1000 to 1500 mi. I do run full synthetic 10w30. I was a technician for ford for about eight years. And I almost feel silly asking this question but what's the point of changing my oil if I add oil every thousand miles could I just replaced the filter every 5000 miles. Is there anybody out there who's doing this

·
Registered
8,968 Posts
You should feel silly. :) You already know the answer since you have experience. Seriously, without getting into the chemistry and possible powertrain warranty issues, since you're always adding fresh oil to used oil you're not getting the protection as you would with a normal oil change. I would change the oil and filter, not to exceed Chrysler specs for a 3.8. Anytime sooner than that is up to you.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Haha. And that's why I wrote that. I know better. I am new to jeeps though. And I was a bit set back by acceptable levels of oil consumption after I researched it. Just didn't know if it was a common practice. Thanks for info

·
Registered
269 Posts
Haha. And that's why I wrote that. I know better. I am new to jeeps though. And I was a bit set back by acceptable levels of oil consumption after I researched it. Just didn't know if it was a common practice. Thanks for info
Some 3.8's guzzle oil. Mine is a little bit better than yours (about 1qt every 3k) but still alarming compared to almost any other vehicle on the road IMO. If memory serves the recommended oil is 5w-20 but I run full-synth 5w-30 which seems to help with the oil consumption.

·
Registered
8,968 Posts
If you haven't done it already swap out your PCV. That has helped with 3.8's that consume oil.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #10