Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apparently in the 2013 Penstar, their is a spring loaded setup. My ex-mechanix apparently broke off the tip. Please see attached pics. My dealership head mechanic is unsure what it does or if it is a real issue. of course, the suggestion is to replace the entire housing.
Can anyone tell me what this does? Is it a relief valve? What are the ramifications of not replacing it? spring nub 2.jpg

Spring Nub.jpg

·
Registered
133 Posts
That's your filter bypass. Dorman sells a generic replacement (part # 917992) that can be had on Amazon for $20.

·
Registered
135 Posts
First off Motor City Mechanic on YouTube has a bunch of videos on this. Second as noted above you only need the dorman part, not an entire replacement oil filter housing assembly. Lastly, and im not an expert but that piece is important because if the engine is under load and needs oil in goes through that part by depressing the spring and allowing engine to the engine...(again, im no expert but motor city mechanic is. Check him out!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
473 Posts
Apparently in the 2013 Penstar, their is a spring loaded setup. My ex-mechanix apparently broke off the tip. Please see attached pics. My dealership head mechanic is unsure what it does or if it is a real issue. of course, the suggestion is to replace the entire housing.
Can anyone tell me what this does? Is it a relief valve? What are the ramifications of not replacing it? View attachment 3704961

View attachment 3704969

Just checking: the first photo is not of your vehicle? Asking because the part appears to be intact there...threw me off a little.