Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
was wondering if there is a way to find out how much oil life i have left?

i am a newbie and dont know if the onboard computer will tell me how much
oil life i have left before i need to do a oil change? i just got the jeep and
even though the dealer said its been serviced i dont know if the oil and
filter have been changed? so i would really like to know how much oil life
i have left before my next oil change. thanks for your help. :blackeye:blackeye

·
Premium Member
16,872 Posts

Menu button : Press Six(6) times
Vehicle info - Press arrow Down
Second "field" will be Oil Life remaining expressed in %
That said, IF the dealer didn't Reset then the Duty Cycles which is what that % is calculated from will not be of any use. It's of little use as it is.

Spend the $25-$30 and have peace of mind and know - It was done. done right and When it was done.

Then stick with an interval and oil/filter that works for you while staying equal to or better than the recommended.
I like every 5k along with 5 tire rotation. Mopar filter and Pennzoil Ultra platinum Full Synthetic (from natural gas)

·
Registered
330 Posts
^ Unless you have the basic dash which won't tell you. My oil life minder routinely goes 15k miles, so be wary of the information.

·
Registered
54 Posts

i have left before my next oil change. thanks for your help.
Menu button : Press Six(6) times
Vehicle info - Press arrow Down
Second "field" will be Oil Life remaining expressed in %
That said, IF the dealer didn't Reset then the Duty Cycles which is what that % is calculated from will not be of any use. It's of little use as it is.

Spend the $25-$30 and have peace of mind and know - It was done. done right and When it was done.

Then stick with an interval and oil/filter that works for you while staying equal to or better than the recommended.