Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I feel silly asking this question as ive been driving stick for about 6 years now, HOWEVER in my defense ive only ever driven small cars. So getting used to the rig is a little different. Anyways my question is, What RPMS do you guys take off at when in first? in my cars i was able to do it at about 100-200 rpms avove idle... But in the jeep im finding myself coming off at around 1300-1500... Now i dont know if this is normal since its 2 tons heavier then my other cars... haha But lemme know what you guys think! Thanks guys and again my apologies for the stupid question #j33pN000B

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
Hmmmm...it definitely is different than a manual car I agree. Honestly, I never look at the tach so I can't help you there. However, I can get the breakpoint (not sure If that is the correct term here, hope you know what I mean) fine with no accelerator at all on my jeep if that helps. How long have you had it? Is the jeep brand new? My trans got smoother the more miles I put on it. The first few weeks that thing was really stiff. It gets easier as it lossens up in my opinion.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
hey copperhead_1 Yah buddy the jeep is brand new, its got exactly 72 miles on it now... and yah i know exactly what you mean, i also find that feeling out the "bite point" In the pedal is a little different then what im used to. But then again could be cuz its brand new still and that clutch is grabbing with all its might!

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
hey copperhead_1 Yah buddy the jeep is brand new, its got exactly 72 miles on it now... and yah i know exactly what you mean, i also find that feeling out the "bite point" In the pedal is a little different then what im used to. But then again could be cuz its brand new still and that clutch is grabbing with all its might!