Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I'm just getting started. Phase 0 was ordering the vehicle and getting it in, I'm calling phase 1 the addition of a 3.5" lift, and new wheels and tires. I had phase 1 done at the dealer.

I posted this in the waiting room, but just to have all the info in one place here, I'll start with my first glimpse when it came in. The dealer uses a former Chrysler/Plymouth dealer facility for reconditioning used cars for resale, as well as special project work such as Jeep builds.

I took these two photos looking through the dirty windows, it was closed for the day when I stopped by.

They let me in the next day to go in and see it. I had debated between Tank and Orange Sunset, but I like the orange, I'm happy with my decision.

The hardrock edition has a red outline on the Rubicon decal, it works well with orange.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Phase 1

The next step was to add the lift. wheels, and tires. I wanted to get this done from the beginning, otherwise I may never get it done! (Had that problem on a Chevy ZR2 I had, never got it modified.)

Went with a 3.5" JKS lift, Method "Standard" wheels, and 35x12.5" Nitto Trail Grapplers.

They put the lift on first. Looks a little funny with stock wheels.

One of the things I liked about the brighter color was the exterior color shows up on the inside.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Delivery

Picked it up today. They had it all prepped and sitting out front on the rock ramp.

Really like the Method Racing Standard wheels.

One concern I had was whether or not it would clear my garage door. I had measured one they had in the showroom which had the top off, and figured I might have a 1.5" gap. But it turns out I have around 3". Handy data point for a 3.5" lift w 35" tires and 7' garage door!