Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The first part of the trail was scenic. We easily made our way over Hurrah Pass and down to the sign that said Chicken Corner on one line and Lockhard Basin on the second line. The sign was covered with stickers but I was pretty sure it was showing Chicken Corners to the right. When we took the right, our car GPS showed that we were off of the path.so we turned around and went further down Lockhard Basin. Because I am a novice, I thought I was still on Chicken Corners.

We got to a spot where you could go straight (into a dead-end), right (up a hill), or left up to some steps. We went right (up the hill) but the GPS showed us off the path again so we turned around (again). We went left but decided that the steps were too hard for a beginner to do solo...

Lessons: Don't use a car GPS for doing trails. I have subscriptions for Gaia and All Trails. I am ordering a JK E-Dock with some clamps so that I can mount our phones and tablet. That will make it easier to use the apps instead of the GPS.

I was pretty sad when we had to turn around because the trail got too hard. At that point, I thought I was still on Chick Corners and thought that we failed to complete it. I felt better once I figured out that I was lost and not a 4X4 failure on what was billed as an easy trail.... LOL

In the end, it was a great adventure and we are looking forward to doing Dome Plateau on Friday.

-B

·
Super Moderator
6,804 Posts