Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Plan:I am trying to plan a trip to Ouray this summer, maybe mid-July. There is one trail in particular that I have to run while I'm out which is Imogene Pass. Another that is on my list that I would love to do but will most likely pass on this trip is Black Bear. I'm looking at spending 2 days running trails, either Friday-Saturday or Saturday-Sunday. I would like to run as many trails out in the area, doesn't have to be just Ouray and Telluride, because I am planning on camping during this trip. I will be taking my wife and our blue heeler along.

Background: I am fairly new in the off-road world so I'm not looking to run PoughKeepsie Gulch (this time), but I am however looking for a good time wheeling and testing the limits of my Jeep. I have wheeled a few times at Tuttle Creek ORV in Randolf KS and a few in pastures here in central Nebraska.

Jeep: My jeep is currently a stock 2 door sport. By the time I venture out to Colorado I am hoping to have my RK 2.5 flex system on, and 35s (probably not a winch). So keep in mind that I may or may not have my lift and 35s.

I need recommendations I need suggestions from you wonderful folks out in Colorado to help me pick out additional trails and make it a fun trip.

·
Registered
771 Posts
The other popular trails in Ouray are Engineer and Cinnamon pass, Alpine Loop. There's scenery and history on that loop. Another good one is Corkscrew gulch, very scenic as well. Yankee Boy Basin intersects with Imogene Pass. All of these are rated mild, 2-5 on traildamage.com.

Ouray is our, me and Colo-TJ, favorite. We hope to make a trip July 16-18 to get our full size Jeep out there. Perhaps we can meet up?

·
Registered
805 Posts
We are going down for 5 days with my father in-law who's and older jeeper and lived in Ouray and Ridgeway for many years we'll be down there doing most of the trails listed above July 23-27th.

·
Registered