Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the jeep world and really loving it so far. I bought a 94 yj that has a 3" lift and 33's on her. To me she is beautiful. Red, softtop, 4 cyl. Now my problems. She will not go over 55 on highway and that takes a little bit to get to. I've figured out I believe that is due to the tire size and she has stock gearing that doesn't like the weight of the tires. I was wondering if anybody might have some insight in this because I don't know if I am rt in my thoughts.

·
Registered
5,105 Posts
the problem is it's a 4cyl with 33's, not using 5th gear would help but even with lower gears the 4 cyl is a dog

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So how large a tire in your opinion do you think I could go and still function well? Stock was 215/75r15. I love her look now and the speed isn't a huge issue with me because the whole driving blazing fast thing is behind me, but would like to be able to take the interstate from time to time.

·
Registered
3,324 Posts
I ran 30s on my 2.5L with a 5 speed and stock gears (4.10). It did fine on the highway. Now I have 35s on 4.88s. I haven't even attempted the highway considering I set up my axle swaps with a tape measure and my alignment angles are way off.

You need to regear or get smaller tires. Keep in mind those larger tires stress the weak rear axle, and the brakes will be working harder. Some suggest brake booster modifications/swaps but no amount of hydraulic pressure will change the fact that you have single piston calipers, small rotors, and weak rear drum brakes.

Reactions: Jak_Rak

·
Registered
158 Posts