Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I just got signed up for a 3 day, 245 +/- mile Overland Challenge Series Rally in western Arkansas. It starts near Hector, AR and ends somewhere around Oark, AR. Basically we have 10 required check points and 10 optional checkpoints, 5 of which you have to do but you choose which 5. The team that finishes in the least amount of miles wins.

I think it sounds epic but has anyone here done anything like this before? Any good mapping software you recommend? I currently run ViewRanger GPS and Backcountry Navigator (as backup, it's too complicated for my liking) on a Galaxy S5 Active. I will be buying a paper topo map of the area as backup. Any tricks I need to know? I have never done a rally before so I am looking for good ideas for my planning process.

There are some significant water crossings. I will 100% be extending my breather tubes. I am on the fence about a snorkel, I am not sold on the looks but I may actually need the functionality. AEV is the likely choice since it is one piece unlike the Rugged Ridge one that has many joints that could leak. Video from last year showed water crossings over the hood on some vehicles competing in it. I also may be adding some limb raisers.

I have spent many, many weekends down on the trail since I bought the Jeep in September so I am comfortable with the driving aspect. The only thing I don't have much experience with are water crossings. But I know enough that I will be walking every crossing with a long stick before I drive through it.

So basically I am looking for advice and tips from anyone who has experience with the overland rally world. I think I am good on my bring along stuff as I have spent plenty of time on the trail.

My current set-up is: