Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
692 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a '14 JKU Sahara that I've been loving and driving since December. There's always plenty of power on tap. I do notice that if I am going at slower speeds and lightly push on the gas to accelerate a little, I can hear what sounds like pinging. If I give it a good push on the throttle, she'll get up and go just fine.

I've tried 93 octane gas, and a few tanks of 91. No real change. Seems to only happen with light throttle push. I don't think it's a problem so much as a concern.

Any ideas ? I'm not a mechanic in any sense.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Mine (also a 2014 JKU Sahara) doesn't ping at low speed / light throttle pushes but it does seem to lug a little unless I give it enough boot to make the transmission downshift.

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
The problem is in your question! You are running 93 and 91 octane fuel in a vehicle that requires 87. Unless you have a tuner, I would recommend going back to 87 before you cause an permanent damage. https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0210-paying-premium-high-octane-gasoline
higher octane will not cause pinging nor will it damage the vehicle in any permanent way. It's just throwing away money if the fuel cannot be used to its full potential. Under light throttle these vehicles run as lean as they can for fuel economy and emissions. It also speeds up the engine getting to temp. A light ping when the vehicle that isn't lugging isn't hurting anything. If it pings going up a hill ect then that is bad. In your owners manual it will discuss ping in these engines.

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
Ever notice on high end cars it shows a min octane or damage will occur? Notice you don't see a maximum octane or damage will occur?

·
Premium Member
692 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Oh, I've only run two tank fulls of 91 and 93. No apparent change. Still pings with light throttle and low speeds.