Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi gang, newbie here. i may be trading for a 02 wrangler sport. 6cyl 5 speed.
85,00 miles i was told its stock and never been off road:hide:.
i have never owned a jeep. and it would be my D/D
just how reliable are they. from what i have read they are .
but my uncle acts like they are plaged with problems.
it does have a soft top and half doors.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,197 Posts
The only problem they are plagued with is poor gas mileage. All the stuff I've broken on my Jeep was done by me except for the radiator and water pump that I replaced. I have over 185k on mine and still runs as strong as the day I drove it away from the dealership. It was my daily driver up until last spring when I figured out a new gas sipper would pay for itself with my 90 mile commute to and from work.

·
Registered
184 Posts
There insanely reliable! I've flipped mine and is 100% fine. My friend used his YJ to flip it over and it whipped right out. No damage whatsoever other than a small ding in my bumper and I was going over 35+ miles. There great. But by asking a forum full of jeep lovers your always gonna get a bias.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks ,
i would have thought as much... LOL
what would be some of the things to look for when i check it out?
that may be problem areas. any commen wear items or nosies.
i was thinking with the mileage it has, it should still be in pretty good shape.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I agree with BLK00TJ. I've got an '01 6cly auto and love it. Repairs are easy, and though I haven't needed a radiator yet, replacing the water pump was a breeze. Recently bought an '01 auto with overdrive from a Cherokee of the same year to address the mileage. Mine is a daily driver too.

·
Registered
3,197 Posts
Thanks ,
i would have thought as much... LOL