Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need to put a gear box on my 09 JK. Stealership wants $1,000 and Salvage yard wants $400 for a used one. Are they worth rebuilding? Not sure if I can adjust the slack out of it or not. When holding the wheel straight is sways left and right. When turning into driveway the wheel jerks back and forth at full turn. Synergy Drag link and Ball joints less than a year old. Disconnected Stabilizer but still does the same think. Has 75K miles on her. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have not tried that yet. I will try it this afternoon. Will that tell me that I should to adjust the screw?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Call west Texas off-road. I have no experience w them but I have read good things about them. They rebuild and sale stock ones. Might save you some $.

·
Registered
3,428 Posts
I'd check the whole steering system top to bottom before swapping out gear boxes. Loose steering joints or, if they're still using them, a failing rag joint in the steering shaft are a more likely source of loose steering than the gear box.

It might not hurt to go to an independent shop and find out for sure.

If it is actually the steering gear box then it's worth looking at the local parts stores for a remanufactured replacement. They're usually cheaper there than anywhere else and just as good.

If you're a decent shade tree mechanic with a good set of basic tools, rebuilding a gear box isn't a huge challenge. You just have to be careful with a few of the bits while you're doing the work.

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ive heard it both ways.. Good idea and not a good idea. A member here bought a box from Advanced/AutoZone for a few hundred. Any mods done to the jeep ?