Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting anything on here, so bear with me. I have a '97 wrangler, and it is my first car ever, and I'm still learning about owning/maintaining a vehicle so a lot of my questions probably seem dumb.

When I bought it a few months ago, the fuel gauge was broken. I was able to estimate the amount of gas I had pretty well, but about 2-3 weeks ago, I noticed that I could not get more than 2 gallons of gas into my tank at a time. I tried moving the pump around, upside down, pulling it out a little, and anything else that was suggested but nothing seems to work. The pump just shuts off every few seconds, and I can never get more than a few bucks in. I just paid out the butt for my fall semester, so I can't get this fixed for a few more weeks, but I was wondering if anyone else has ever experienced this and could tell me what is wrong or if it is something that I could possibly fix myself.

Hopefully this isn't too dumb of a question. I asked about this on another site, and some guy told me to kill myself because I was too dumb to just get it fixed (even though I clearly stated that I planned on having it fixed asap). So I figured you guys would possibly be a little nicer and more helpful.

I appreciate any suggestions/answers!

·
Registered
595 Posts
I have had this happen to me. What happens on mine is that the gas tank vent tube does not let the vapors escape. I have to pull the nozzle out almost all of the way. Pump the gas slowly for about 30 seconds than pump it it full speed with the nozzle all the way in. Works for me.

·
Registered
147 Posts