Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went off road this weekend and had/have problems with my lockers. I was in 4 low and activated the front and rear lockers while not moving. The lock lights were blinking and never went solid. I deactivated them after I tried driving a short distance with them still blinking, than turned them off.

On the drive home, I instantly noticed the rear differential was locked, in 2 high and no lock light on. So today at work, I am a mechanic, I tried activating them both with it lifted off the ground. The front lock does not lock and has power and ground going to the locker coil. The rear was locked and would not unlock. I removed the rear cover only and saw the plate in the unlock position, but the sensor seems to be stuck extended. The sensor should have a spring internally to assist the plate to the unlock position. Now for the really strange part, the locks were stuck into the differential locking it even with the plate in the unlock position.

I worked it back and forth applying pressure and after a while they finally unlocked. I than ran the vehicle in the air and cycled the locker off and on ten times and the rear works fine except the rear sensor will only sometimes indicated the rear is locked. I didn't have time to to open the front differential today.

Can anyone give me any insight to what may be the problems. Also are the stock lockers unreliable?

I am running 35" tires and 4:56 gears.

Thanks for any suggestions.

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
I went off road this weekend and had/have problems with my lockers. I was in 4 low and activated the front and rear lockers while not moving. The lock lights were blinking and never went solid. I deactivated them after I tried driving a short distance with them still blinking, than turned them off.