Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've noticed recently that my new-to-me '92 4-cylinder (which only has 98K on it :thumb:) really smells strongly like gas. I'm new to Jeeps and not really sure where to start in figuring this out. The first thing I can think of is a fuel leak, but the ground underneath never gets wet so I'm not sure that there is a leak anywhere.

Can someone help me understand where to start looking for answers?

·
Registered
858 Posts
any gas smell when the engine has been off and it's just sat around for a few hrs or is it only when running? Could be it's running very rich, leaky fuel line, evap issue, leaky fuel cap, etc.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Mainly when it's running. Stinks up my garage when I pull in and shut her down. The smell lingers in there for awhile, but eventually dissipates.

·
Registered
858 Posts
Could be any of the above I listed. How's it run? Mileage worse lately? Any problems with filling it up with gas at the pump? Pop the hood and look closely at the fuel lines, fuel rail. Check your evap system for any damage/leaks as well. Might be you're running real rich and smelling unburnt fuel in the exhaust however. If you can, smell the exhaust while it's running and see if the gas smell is coming from there. Don't spend minutes doing it as carbon monoxide is bad for you, but 20 seconds should suffice to see if the smell is coming from the exhaust without putting you in danger.

·
Registered
1,738 Posts
Probably running rich....... make sure it is fully warmed up..... then smell..... most ICE run rich until warmed up......

Been doing it since you got it????? or is this recent????

·
Registered
742 Posts