Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Jeep world so please don't lose patience with me, I'm looking for advice from real/honest/experienced people. I was at a local 4x4 mod shop (Desert Rat) and the sales guy told me that AEV lifts are the best lift out there to prevent the death wobble. He told me that lifts change the geometry of the front diff. He told me that the AEV lift is specifically designed for the JK's and is the safest way to go. The AEV's are pretty expensive and I am wondering if this guy is just trying to make an extra buck????

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
A properly maintained suspension prevents death wobble. Any lift installed could cause death wobble if not installed correctly or maintained properly. AEV are good lifts, but there are others that are just as good or better. A lot of death wobble issues are caused by front track bar and AEV uses your factory track bar, so that doesn't really jive with his claim that they are designed to prevent it with their lift. There are a lot of lift threads and death wobble threads on here that will give you a lot of info. Welcome and have fun with your Jeep. Just do plenty of research.

·
Super Moderator
53,758 Posts
Right, lifting really has nothing to do with the root cause of DW.

AEV uses geometry correction brackets to set caster up front. RANCHO, RC, RE, TNT all make a geometry correction bracket, and can be added along with any lift.

To say is "the best" is based on personal opinion and more importantly, how the jeep is used.

·
Registered
5,701 Posts