Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone. First time looking into buying a Wrangler Unlimited Sahara and I have a question. I'm looking at this for my daughter and I have heard that the soft top can be a bear to put on. I was also told that the new top on the '13's would be easier. Can one small girl put this up should she get caught in the rain? Obviously I have zero experience.

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
My wife, who is 5'2", can put the top of our 2010 up if she stands in the back. The new models have a spring assist, making it even easier than ours. The harder part, it seems, is being able to pull it down/forward to latch it in front (above visors).

S

·
Registered
4,718 Posts
Lucky damn daughter lol but I'm sure if you taught it to her with her she wouldn't have a problem but everything is easier with two people

·
Premium Member
156 Posts
She shouldn't have a problem with it. Even with you calling her small. On the Sahara she's got the side steps to stand on so she'll be high enough to do it. Take her to a dealership and give it a test run to see if she can do it. This way there's no questions in your mind and the dealer can show her how it's done too.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Post your location and I'm sure someone will show you their jeep and let you put top up and down. Dealers don't know the jeeps they're selling.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Should not be a problem,i own a 2013 but i have yet to fold the top down,but the sunrider option is your best bet,it is so easy to flip back(this is the front half of the soft top)and if you unzip and roll up the rear soft window,you get a ton of air rollin down the road and takes about 2 min to roll back down and close the sunrider you could do that before any storm hit if you were on highway.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·