Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi...think I've found a 2010 JK Unlimited Rubicon that is a bit of unicorn having the options & color I like at a price that is almost reasonable for the mileage and condition. Has about 50,000 miles on it.

Planning to take it down a gravel road on the test drive to make sure 4hi / 4lo engage and disengage properly. Nothing too serious for the test drive, just make sure everything functions.

4wd I have a lot of experience with. Lockers I've only used on my compact tractor.

So I'm not sure other than relying on the indicator lights if there is anything, short of finding slippery ground, that I should hear/feel to know the lockers engaged? Or are these pretty much bullet proof?

·
Registered
108 Posts
I can't venture an opinion on the durability of the lockers... but for the sake of testing I've always found that doing a few tight turns in 4wd should cause the drive-line to "bind up" a bit and then slip or scuff; thus confirming engagement overall of the 4wd. As for lockers and limited slip stuff, I would guess in low range (so the traction control is off) in a fairly tight turn if you goose the throttle you should hear/feel both rears (I THINK the lock is on the rears on an Rubicon??) spin up a bit. Best to do this on dirt, and not a lot of speed is needed... Maybe have someone observe from behind for dual wheelspin?

·
Registered
5,294 Posts
You put it in low range and lock the rear as soon as you try to turn you will feel the rear locked, even more so with the front. Make sure the lights stop blinking. Same with unlock, lights stop blinking. Sheck the sway disco also. Ask for maintenance records.

You know what to look for.

Reactions: Dalmatian90

·
Retired Moderator
100,716 Posts
:welcome: to the Forum..:wavey:

·
Registered
970 Posts