Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
432 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm at my wits end. If I could get these thing out of the knuckle I'd return/sell them. This is ridiculous. Anyone installed these into a ProRock 44 with 35 spline AND the outer seal? There's isn't enough space to grip the inner axle in order to seat the CV joint. Obviously I'm an amateur, so take it with a grain, but think twice about installing the components on your own. Anyone with advice or help? I thought this would be the easy part of my swap, but now I'm looking at a rental car to get to work tomorrow.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
432 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I can't post a video. There's the inner axle, orange boot and a cv joint with the outer axle. The inner axle has a retaining ring that snaps into the cv joint. I can't hold the inner axle to keep it from moving while O'Malley the cv joint on. There isn't enough room for my vice grips with the axle tube seal installed.

·
Premium Member
432 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Supposed to read "I mallet". The orange boot is seated onto the cv joint already

·
Super Moderator
8,177 Posts
If I understand the question correctly, there is a little metal tool that looks like a metal circle with cutouts that holds the inner. I got mine with my grease tube from the shop when they installed. Use this little thingie and maybe a zip tie to keep everything lined up. We just took mine apart to grease them and did this.

If this is not what you are asking, apologize.

·
Premium Member
432 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I've been talking to RCV. They are sending the tool. I think my particular issue is the outer axle seal. It doesn't leave enough room for the tool. Im removing the outer seal and trying again.

·
Premium Member
432 Posts
Discussion Starter #7