Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have always been a car driver, so I have no experience with wheeling. So I need some advice please. I just bought a 2014 JK Sport S (3.6L Automatic) with factory 255/75R17 tires BUT i just discovered that it has a 3.21 axle ratio. From all the reading I have been doing, it appears that this is a useless set up. I plan on using this JK as my DD as well as getting into wheeling. Since I have never taken a vehicle off road, I don't know how, exactly I will be using it. I'm also on a limited budget and had planed on making mods over time. So, getting started what do i need to do first?

My thought is, that I would get it re-geared first. Since the cost is going to be the same for whatever axle ratio I select, is it best to go ahead and get a 5.13 ratio even though I have 32 inch tires? My understanding is that if I go to 35's there are all kinds of things, in addition to re-gearing, that I will need to do.

Is it possible to do any kind of wheeling with a 3.21 and 32" Goodyear Wrangler SR-A tires?

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
You don't want 5.13 gears with 32" tires, your rpms will be screaming on the highway!!..You don't want 5.13's with the 3.6v6 automatic and 35's, you'll still be way over geared. 4.56 gears are the perfect match with the 3.6 and automatic tranny and 35" tires.

Your 3.21 gears are fine until you decide to move up in tire size. I have the factory optional 3.73 gears with 33" tires and it's a perfect combination.

You would only need 5.13 gears if you were running 37" tires with the manual tranny.

·
Registered
43 Posts
I just regeared to 4.56 from 3.21 this past Monday. I currently have 33's but plan on getting 35's in the near future.