Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So has anyone done one? I have a 90 yj with a 4.2 I believe its the D35 in the rear. My pass side seal is leaking bad! Are these the seals that are way inside right outside the diff?

·
Registered
1,051 Posts
So there is a seal at the axle shaft where it enters the axle tube so if is leaking there and bolts are not loose it should be an easy fix.

I just looked at mine

·
Registered
1,445 Posts
just a thought here...it could be a wheel cylinder leaking you sure its gear fluid??? what color? leaking from the brake drum area?

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm positive its gear oil. I'm actually a mechanic just haven't done this job before and was wondering how it was.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So there is a seal at the axle shaft where it enters the axle tube so if is leaking there and bolts are not loose it should be an easy fix.

I just looked at mine
So your saying the seal is towards the wheel? My front seals are deeper into the axle right by the diff gears

·
Registered
2,933 Posts
Yeah the rear is different. I have done these in a few axles. The are right behind the backing plate for the drum brakes. Make sure you lube it with fresh oil good before putting the axle back through. They make a special tool to put the seals in, but in my experience you dont need it. Just a large socket, or place the old seal on top of the new seal with a block of wood and hammer it in. Has to be 100% square though. Obviously you have to open up the rear diff to drain it and to pull the C Clips off so you can pull the axles out. If one is going you might as well do the other too.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·