Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone I'm new to the wrangler crowd , we just bought a 94 Wrangler that the rear on the driver side is about an inch further back than the other side . The leaf springs have been replaced at some point & they appear to be a little different from side to side . Is it possible to loosen the u-bolts and move the rear or does the bracket have a locating hole to center the leaf on the rear end ?
Thanks in advance Scott

·
Registered
132 Posts
Yes they are on a peg and hole centering system. Sounds like you'll need to remove the u bills and relocate the Axel. Hopefully you haven't tweaked any u bolts.

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
The locating hole will not allow it to be moved; you may have the wrong leaf set, or possibly its in backwards.

It seems you have had a new/second set installed? Lift maybe?

Either way, take some measurements and verify the leafs to each other; Its possible there is something else wrong too.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It has not been lifted , I will measure the leafs & see if they are different . What are some other things to look at .
Thanks Scott

·
Registered
4,757 Posts
There is a center bolt in the leaf springs that hold the pack of springs together. The head of this bolt sits in a hole on the under side of the axle. There are 3 holes in the saddle.

Sounds like from what you are saying, the center bolt is in the forward hole on the spring saddle which would put the axle about an inch back on that side.

This needs to be fixed, or it going to wear out tires and bearings, from running crooked down the road.