Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering about meaningful upgrades from Unlimited Sport to Rubicon, specifically around the drive train. I am new to Jeeps, and am wondering what the costs would be to upgrading a Sport to a Rubicon type drive train/suspension? Is it just the Dana upgrade in the front? Is this the only upgrade needed or are there others? What would it cost to have the Dana upgrade installed in parts and labor?

It seems like options are quite expensive from the factory, and am wondering if aftermarket is a better way to go in terms of price/performance.

Thanks for your informed comments from a potential new owner of a new Unlimited.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Upgrades to a sport would likely cost around $6-8k but that's with a prorock or currie 44 a much stronger front axle. You'd pay the price upfront for a rubi. I went for a Sahara (sport with pain and trim package) and I've wheeled a lot of places and had a ton of fun with the basic stock drivetrain. Ungraded suspension but you'll need to do that with a stock rubi too. I'd say you're better off building the jeep over time and even getting a winch and using that over lockers.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Upgrades to a sport would likely cost around $6-8k but that's with a prorock or currie 44 a much stronger front axle. You'd pay the price upfront for a rubi. I went for a Sahara (sport with pain and trim package) and I've wheeled a lot of places and had a ton of fun with the basic stock drivetrain. Ungraded suspension but you'll need to do that with a stock rubi too. I'd say you're better off building the jeep over time and even getting a winch and using that over lockers.
And the $8k price is for the addl, gear Change to the rear diff and also adding another locker in the rear north ridge and most other shops sell built prorocks for around $6k

·