Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My TJ is a 97. It still has all stock suspension at 20 years old. It isn't too terribly rusty considering it has been through 20 Pennsylvania winters. I don't do any intense off roading. No rock climbing or anything like that. I'd just like to be able to drive down a trail without feeling like something is going to break from being old, worn out, and rusty. I'm just looking for any recommendations for I guess what would basically be the minimum I would need to safely drive off road. I'm a college student so I don't have a ton of money to spend on a lift lol. I just don't know anything about that sort of thing and wouldn't have a clue of what to look for.

·
Registered
8,397 Posts
If you plan to stick with stock size tires, there are several people who have replaced their stock springs with H&R springs.

The best value "for the quality, function, ride, and price" are the Zone Offroad Kits. 3" or the 4.25" Combo kit.

Just avoid Skyjacker and Rough Country...while they offer inexpensive kits, the ride is horrible.

·
Registered
808 Posts
x2 on what Dextreme said. Also if you are looking at a small lift amount, look at BDS 2" suspension lift.

·
Registered
15,661 Posts
Before investing in lift need to realistically asses exact extent of rust as if critical component attachments are rust compromised need to address that before any money spent on lift

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If you plan to stick with stock size tires, there are several people who have replaced their stock springs with H&R springs.

The best value "for the quality, function, ride, and price" are the Zone Offroad Kits. 3" or the 4.25" Combo kit.

Just avoid Skyjacker and Rough Country...while they offer inexpensive kits, the ride is horrible.