Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2014 jku with 4000 miles. I just changed the oil. 6 quarts of castrol 5w30 and a purolator filter. Everything went perfectly. Changed the o ring on the filter....everything is snugged down.....no leaks. Start jeep up.....check engine light. Drive to front of neighborhood, red oilcan light comes on. I step on gas.....light goes off. So, now....whenever i almost come to a complete stop or when i am stopped, that oil light is on........what gives?

Fluke?
Safe to drive?
Real issue?

·
Registered
101 Posts
Also, don't our Jeeps call for 5w20? I'm still learning and have to admit I don't know the technicalities of changing oil weights. I just changed mine yesterday and can confirm that 2014's use a new filter, and at least near where I am they are really tough to find. I ended up going with the wix brand since I heard they were decent. It's WL10010 if you decide to go that route.

·
Registered
517 Posts
Also, don't our Jeeps call for 5w20? I'm still learning and have to admit I don't know the technicalities of changing oil weights. I just changed mine yesterday and can confirm that 2014's use a new filter, and at least near where I am they are really tough to find. I ended up going with the wix brand since I heard they were decent. It's WL10010 if you decide to go that route.
Yes it is 5w20 for the 2014. Says right on the fill cap.

·
RETIRED MODERATER
35,007 Posts
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f202/first-oil-change-thoughts-955058.html

^^^Read Post # 33

·
Registered
807 Posts
They changed in 2013 to 5w-20, something to do with trying to meet CAFE standard (at least that's what I've read). A lot of the 2013 still say 5w-30 on the cap probably cause jeep wanted to use up all the oil cap they had in stock. ;D

☞Sent from here☜

·
Registered
101 Posts