Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have asked several people and get different answers from everyone. Im new to this so please explain your answers as if your teaching your child something.

I just bought a 2013 Jeep Wrangler Sport JK-manual transmission-3.73 gear ratio
(Not sure if it matters...soft top/stock everything for now)

I plan to get a 2.5-3 inch spring lift, 35 inch tires and 17 inch wheels. I will do light traid riding but mostly daily driving.

Do I need to regear? What are the pro/cons if I do/dont?

Thanks for helping me with my new addiction ;-)

·
I AM THERE4 I JEEP
12,295 Posts
Put 35s on and see if you want to re-gear.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok...I am VERY new to this and know nothing about cars. I am eager to learn though.

That being said, what am I looking for when I drive it after putting 35s on it? What will regearing it do for me?

·
Retired Mod
11,136 Posts
Ok...I am VERY new to this and know nothing about cars. I am eager to learn though.

That being said, what am I looking for when I drive it after putting 35s on it? What will regearing it do for me?
Just drive it stock for awhile and learn what it can do "as is".....especially if you don't know a lot about cars and Wranglers. What is the rush on the lift and 35's?

·
Registered
666 Posts
Exactly, drive it and see. Vehicle performance is subjective to the driver.

The reason people tell you you should regear is the math and/or their own experience. The math says you need lower gears. That means a 3.6 liter Jeep with a manual transmission and 35" tires will be just below the standard range of performance expectations / or in another way, the expectations the manufacturer designed in to the vehicle. I think taller gears (3.21 stock) were chosen for MPG and modern customer expectations, as in that was a design expectation.