Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright jeep peeps want your thoughts on a possible heat solution. I am fairly new to the jeep world and forum and was not aware of the heater core issues. As in my sig I bought an 08 JKU a few months back..my first jeep and I love it. The weather turned just after I got it so no top down or naked yet but am sooo looking forward to it. Starting down the mod path when the temps changed and very little heat on the drivers side. Read the forum and looked at all the threads on the heater cores.

Now on to my question. I back flushed the heater core and even put some radiator cleaner in it and left it set for 30 minutes and then reversed flushed/ flushed about 5 times. I got a few small black specks out of the heater core but the fluid etc. looked fine...no sand gunk etc. and my radiator cap looks good. There might be a little in the overflow but it was too cold to mess with. I got a little more heat out of my driver side but nothing like what is coming out of the passenger side. So I got to thinking about it and was wondering if it would hurt anything to purchase some additional hose and hook up the heater core backwards to continually back flush the unit and possibly flush it out. I will do a complete flush once the weather warms up but in the mean time thought I might try this. What are your thoughts? Would it hurt anything? I really don't want to pay for the heater core install and I don't have any extended warranty. I really like the jeep other than that but driving without very much heat sucks and I don't want to do too many mods if this doesn't work out and I sell it and go for another one.

Sorry for the essay but want to gather your input.:beerme::worthy::awesome:

·
Registered
90 Posts
I don't know if that would be OK or not, I couldn't see where you'd run into a problem,