Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI there. So I'm new to the Jeep forum but not to 4WD's. For the past 2 decades I have been modifying and wheeling a 1996 Land Rover Discovery. Yes Rubicon tested all the way through. It had ARB's FT and RR, Fox resivor adj. shocks, Rock sliders, and lots of steel all around. 9K warn. Basically a Safari Gard Stage 11 build for anyone familiar. 2 decades of LR was enough.

Out with the LR in with the Jeep.

Just bought a 2014 JK Rubicon Unlimited. Black with clear coat. Lots of bells, Dana 44 Ft&RR. Ft and RR elec. lockers
Looking at something like:
Goals: Keep it low with only 2.5 to 3.5" lift, keeping CG low, with lots of flex. Want stiffer handling. It is a bit "boaty" with the Rubicon suspension. Want greater tracking at higher speeds. It currently seems a bit squirmy at above 65 if making lane changes etc.
1. 35" tires.
2. VKS Rock sliders, frame mounted. I pulled the trigger on these which arrived today. Wanted frame mount, bolt or weld. Did not want body mount. Wanted a step, 40-45 degree upward angle, something to slide on at the sides, be able to handle a 5K Jeep hitting them hard. (My LR weighed 5.5K lbs. when finished.)
3. Metal Cloak 2.5 or 3.5 suspension Or Rock Krawler. Not decided still researching. Maybe the ARB shocks which I have ran previously as well as Fox.
4. This is a DD with a short commute to BART 2 miles.
5. Will add Ft and RR bumbers. Want close in and bomb proof.
6. Winch.
7. Fuel and storage on swinging RR gate. Prefer one handle open/close.
So that's my short list.

Nice to meet you all. Hope to contribute as I learn more about my new Jeep.

John

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hi again.
Build choices thus far
1. VKS frame mounted pre runner sliders.
2. Hansen rear bumper.
Thinking about: seriously: