Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys
Im new to jeeps. Im wanting to keep my yj stock leafs but add maybe 2'' shackles and new shocks. What are some shackles yall recommend and do I need extended shocks?\
Thanks in advance

Edit: I have a stock 95 yj with 31x10.50x15

·
Registered
2,216 Posts
I have 1.5" shackles on mine and is a relatively easy change. I kept the stock leafs and stock shocks. 2" is extreme based on what I gathered when researching to do my own. You don't 'have' to change the shocks but you will certainly want to. I am planning to change mine out within the next month when I throw my 8.8 rear under it. Like everything on my Jeep I have to do it in small bites so my bank account doesnt freak out. :p Here is a great link I found when researching the longer shackles.

All about shackles - JeepForum.com

Google is a great place to start when you are considering any upgrades to your Jeep, not only because there are at least 100 other people who have already done it to an older Jeep but you can usually save a few pennies along the way in finding the parts. Good luck and happy Jeepin'!

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have 1.5" shackles on mine and is a relatively easy change. I kept the stock leafs and stock shocks. 2" is extreme based on what I gathered when researching to do my own. You don't 'have' to change the shocks but you will certainly want to. I am planning to change mine out within the next month when I throw my 8.8 rear under it. Like everything on my Jeep I have to do it in small bites so my bank account doesnt freak out. :p Here is a great link I found when researching the longer shackles.

All about shackles - JeepForum.com